Join us for the 2019 Athena Leadership Award® Dinner!

Athena Leadership Award® Dinner

Hosted & Sponsored by Wayne Bank and Indiana University East since 2014
Recognizing leaders who motivate, inspire and create positive change in the community.

Wayne Bank and Indiana University East are pleased to announce the 2019 ATHENA Leadership Award® Dinner.

The event honors leaders who motivate, inspire and create positive change in the community, and the ATHENA Leadership Award® will be presented to one of a select group of nominees. New this year is the ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award!

Proceeds benefit local organizations dedicated to serving leadership building for women of all ages. Event proceeds will equally benefit the Women’s Fund of Wayne County and Girls, Inc.

Wayne Bank and IU East believe in the values underlying Athena International’s philosophy of incorporating the talent and expertise of women into the leadership of our businesses, our communities and our government. Reflective of a quote attributed to Plato, "What is honored in a country will be cultivated there," the ATHENA Leadership Award® honors and illuminates the leaders and leadership styles of individuals others would emulate.

Facebook page of Wayne County Athena International Leadership Award Keep up with award news and nominees on Facebook!

  • June 27th, 2019

  • Forest Hills Country Club

  • Nominations closed on April 29th. Check back soon and follow us on Facebook for the announcement of the nominees!

  • Platinum Sponsors

    IU East

The Award

ATHENA Leadership Award® recipients are presented a hand-cast, bronzed and crystal sculpture that symbolizes the strength, courage and wisdom of Athena recipients. The Wayne County recipient will be invited to join ATHENA Leadership Award® Recipients and other leaders at a national ATHENA International Women’s Leadership conference.

The award’s rich history, international scope and emphasis on mentorship make this award unique and amongst the most prestigious leadership awards one can receive.

ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award

The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award actively supports and celebrates the ATHENA mission of supporting, developing and honoring women leaders, inspiring women to achieve their full potential—creating balance in leadership worldwide.

Selection Criteria

Recipients are deemed to be an exemplary leaders who have achieved excellence in their business or profession, served the community in a meaningful way and, most importantly, actively assisted women to achieve their full leadership potential.

Nominations are sought throughout the community and recipients are selected by a diverse group of community leaders.

Past Recipients

We're proud to share with you the past recipients of the ATHENA Leadership Award®.

Janice Buhl-Macy

2018 Recipient
Buhl-Macy, of Cambridge City, Indiana, is the founder and owner of the Western Wayne News and Nettle Creek Gazette. She serves on several boards and committees helping to serve and shape the Wayne County community.

Angie Dickman

2017 Recipient
Angie Dickman of Richmond, Indiana, is vice president at Reid Health. She oversees many areas at Reid Health. In the community, Dickman serves as chair of the IU East Board of Advisors and as a board member and resource development chair for Community in Schools.

Kim Poinsett

2016 Recipient
Vice president of community relations for First Bank Richmond. In her role, Poinsett oversees community engagement and philanthropic efforts. She also serves on several boards and committees helping to serve and shape the Richmond community.

Jackie Carberry

2015 Recipient
Owner of Warm Glow Candle Company, Carberry serves on the Wayne County Tourism Board and generously provides in-kind and monetary donations to local schools and non-profit organizations. She also serves on many local boards and committees.

Mary Jo Clark

2014 Recipient
Long-time community builder and leader in Wayne County. Brought together the team of 27 upbeat young people from divergent backgrounds and giving them the reins to steer Richmond toward the All-America City Award in 2009.

ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award

Introduced in 2018

Jessie Pilewski

2018 Recipient
Pilewski of Richmond, Indiana, is a career coach for the Earlham College Center for Career and Community Engagement. Her work with first-generation and underrepresented students has led her to become a mentor and role model for many of these students.

“This year’s finalists demonstrate the dedication and service to community that the ATHENA award represents. Each year we receive many outstanding nominations for the ATHENA award, and this year the tradition continues and is a testament to the number of women who help to lead this community. We look forward to announcing the recipient at this year’s dinner.”
- IU East Chancellor Kathy Cruz-Uribe on the 2018 Nominees