July 7, 2022

2023 Recipients

ATHENA Leadership Award® – Kathy Girten

Girten joined Indiana University as the sixth Chancellor of IU East in July 2013, as the first woman chancellor to serve the campus.

Girten has previously been awarded the Wayne County Area Chamber of Commerce Art Vivian Distinguished Community Leader Award in 2020, as well as the Community Achievement Award from Amigos in 2018.

Girten has been a member of the Wayne County Area Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Forward Wayne County steering committee. She serves on the boards of First Bank Richmond, the First Bank Richmond Community Foundation, Reid Health, the Richmond Art Museum, the Richmond Symphony Orchestra, and the Wayne County Foundation.

ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award – Tai Muldoon

Muldoon is the CEO/Executive Director of Girls Inc. an organization which inspires all girls to be strong, smart, and bold through direct service and advocacy. Muldoon is a 2013 graduate of Indiana University East and has certifications in Fundraising Management and in Nonprofit Executive Leadership from Indiana University and Western Governors University. She previously held roles at Ivy Tech and Birth to Five

ATHENA Organizational Leadership Award – Boys & Girls Clubs of Wayne County

The Boys & Girls Clubs of Wayne County is dedicated to helping kids in the area through programs that encourage academic success, healthy lifestyles, and good character and citizenship. Their mission also includes inspiring and enabling all young people to realize their full potential as productive, responsible, and caring citizens. BGCWC is led by a strong female executive leadership team with 43 years of combined experience in the Clubs of Wayne County. These key associates are examples of the Club’s focus on training women for leadership roles.